Tor Aulin (1866−1914)

Music to Strindberg's drama Mäster Olof
Meister Olof, Orchester-Suite
Mäster Olof, suite in five movements

opus 22

1. Reformatorn
2. Husfrun och barnet
3. I Storkyrkan
4. Margaretas död
5. Festen vid Norreport


1. Der Reformator
2. Sein Weib und Kind
3. In der Stadtkirche
4. Am Totenbette der Mutter
5. Das Fest am Norreort

  • Year of composition: 1908
  • Work category: Incidental music
  • Text author: August Strindberg
  • Dedication: Dem Dichter gewidmet [August Strindberg]
  • First performed: Mäster Olof was the opening show at the inauguration of the Royal Dramatic Theatre on 18 February 1908.
  • Duration: 30 min


2*.2.2.2 / / timp, 4 perc / str

Examples of printed editions

Zimmermann, Leipzig 1909. Score and orchestral parts. Location mark at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket: O/Sv (Online catalogue)

Only score: 2003k/196

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Location mark at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket: Z/Sv, under op. no. 22 (Card catalogue for scores -1985, available online)

Description of work

1. Reformatorn (I Strengnäs kloster): Moderato C major 4/4 (C)
2. Husfrun och barnet: Andantino D minor 4/4 (C)
3. I Storkyrkan: Allegro molto agitato C minor alla breve
4. Margaretas död: Molto lento e funebre A minor 4/4 (C)
5. Festen vid Norreport: Allegro vivo C major 4/4