Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

String quartet in F minor

VB 178 (earlier VB 182)

1. Andante di molto
2. Allegretto

  • Year of composition: Stockholm 1779-81 (?)
  • Work category: String quartet
  • Duration: Approx. 10-15 min

Examples of printed editions

Artaria Editions AE418, Wellington, New Zealand 2002

  • Location autograph: Landsarkivet Härnösand
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost, transcription at Murberget, Länsmuseet Härnösand, no. [18] 17


van Boer Jr., Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus — Systematisch-Thematisches Werkverzeichnins, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was pulished in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title Joseph Martin Kraus: Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study.
——: Preface to new edition of the quartet: ISBN 1877231-69-X.

Description of work

1. Andante di molto F minor 3/4
2. Allegretto F major 2/4