Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Schweizer Rundgesang (Schweizerrundgesang). 'Auf! es dunkelt' F major

VB 72 (earlier VB 71)

  • Year of composition: Stockholm 1788 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Voice and piano
  • Text author: Johann G. von Salis-Sewis
  • Duration: Approx. 1-5 min
  • Detailed duration: 2'02 (according to the Naxos CD edition)

Solo voices/choir


  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv Kraus Sånger


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

Andante F major 2/4


Auf! es dunkelt, silbern funkelt ob dem Tannenberg