Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

An das Klavier. 'Sey mir gegrüsst [gegrüßt]' E major

VB 94 (earlier VB 93)

  • Year of composition: Vienna 1783 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Voice and piano
  • Text author: Johann T. Hermes
  • Duration: Approx. 1-5 min
  • Detailed duration: 2'17 (according to the Naxos CD edition)

Solo voices/choir


Examples of printed editions

Airs et Chansons pour le Clavecin, composés par Joseph Kraus, Maître de S. M. le Roi de Suède, à Stockholm, chez G. A. Silverstolpe et en commission chez Breitkopf und Härtel à Leipsic [sic] (1796). Facsimile edition, Autographus Musicus, Bandhagen (1980)

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv Kraus Sånger


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

Larghetto E major alla breve


Sey mir gegrüsst, mein schmeichelndes Klavier