Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Lydia och Arist. 'Sällhet, jag sökte dig' E-flat major

VB A/4 (earlier VB 119)

  • Year of composition: According to van Boer probably in Stockholm 1790-1797 (earlier information: 1789-1790; see more below)
  • Work category: Voice and piano
  • Text author: J. D. Valerius
  • Duration: Approx. 1-5 min

Solo voices/choir


Examples of printed editions

Musikaliskt tidsfördrif (1798)

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost (according to van Boer)


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

Largo sostenuto E-flat major 4/4 (C)

Work comment

The music could also be written by J. C. F. Haeffner (according to van Boer's updated list of works, see more below) but reminds one of VB 95 'Skulda winkt', which makes the attribution uncertain


Sällhet! jag sökte dig, och fann dig i Lydias blickar. Lydia älskade mig