Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Motet. Stella coeli C major

VB 10

1. Stella coeli exstirpavit
2. O gloriosa stella maris

  • Year of composition: Amorbach 1783 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Mixed choir with solo voice(s) and orchestra
  • Duration: Approx. 10-15 min
  • Detailed duration: Uncertain

Instrumentation / / (cont) org obligato / str

Solo voices/choir

Solo parts: S, T
Choir: S.A.T.B.

Location for score and part material

One transcript, among others, exists at Uppsala University library (according to van Boer)

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost (according to van Boer)


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study' (the numbering of this work is however unchanged).

Description of work

1. Allegro moderato C major 3/4
2. Andante C major 4/4 (C)


1. Stella coeli exstirpavit

2. O gloriosa stella maris