Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Cantata. La Primavera

VB 47 (earlier VB 46)

1. Recitative: O Dio, Fileno
2. Aria: Va, ma conservai miei caro

  • Year of composition: Stockholm 26 April 1790 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Voice and orchestra
  • Text author: Pietro Metastasio
  • Duration: Approx. 15-20 min
  • Detailed duration: 19'35 (according to the Phoenix Edition CD edition)

Instrumentation / / (cont) / str

Solo voices/choir


  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus: Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

1. Largo C major 4/4 (C)
2. Allegro C major 4/4 (C)


1. Recitative: O Dio, Fileno, o Dio. Comincia il

2. Aria: Va, ma conservai miei caro