Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Aria. In te spero o sposa amata B-flat major

VB 49 (earlier VB 48)

  • Year of composition: Probably Stockholm in late 1781 or early 1782 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Voice and orchestra
  • Text author: Pietro Metastasio (from the operas Demofoonte, Olympiade and Artaserse)
  • First performed: Probably on 24 February 1782, the House of Nobility (Stockholm). Soloist: Cristoffer Karsten (according to van Boer)
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min
  • Detailed duration: Uncertain

Instrumentation / / (cont) / str

Solo voices/choir


  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Z/Sv


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

Andante - Largo - Allegro - Andante B-flat major - D minor - B-flat major 4/4 (C) - 3/4


In te spero, o sposa amata