Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Aria. Ch'io mai vi possa C major

VB 59 (earlier VB 58)

  • Year of composition: Probably Paris 1785 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Voice and orchestra
  • Text author: Pietro Metastasio (from the opera Siroë), according to van Boer
  • Duration: Approx. 1-5 min
  • Detailed duration: Uncertain


(cont) / str

Solo voices/choir


Location for score and part material

Transcript exists in the Uppsala University library (according to van Boer)

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost (according to van Boer)


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

(Tempo di) Rondeaux C major 3/4


Ch'io mai vi possa, lasciar d'amore [annan läsart: d'amare]