Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Recitative and Aria. Fermati! - Se tutti i mali miei E-flat major

VB 65 (earlier VB 64)

  • Year of composition: Probably Stockholm 1788 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Voice and orchestra
  • Text author: Pietro Metastasio (from the opera Demofoonte, Act II, scene 6)
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min
  • Detailed duration: Uncertain

Instrumentation / / (cont) / str

Solo voices/choir

Soprano (Dircea)

Location for score and part material

Transcript exists in the Uppsala University library (according to van Boer)

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: The autograph earlier existed at the Royal Opera library, but is not lost (according to van Boer)


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study'.

Description of work

Recitative: (tempo mark missing) E-flat major 4/4 (C)
Aria: Andante molto E-flat major 4/4 (C)


Fermati! Ah, no m'ascolta /.../ Se tutti i mali miei (variant: Si tutti)