Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Trio in D major für Klavier, Violine und Violoncello

VB 171 (earlier VB 172)

1. Allegro moderato
2. Largo, ma poco con moto
3. Ghiribizzo: Allegro

  • Year of composition: Stockholm 1787-88 (?)
  • Work category: Piano trio
  • Duration: 21 min

Examples of printed editions

Edition Breitkopf no. 6314, Wb.. 359, Wiesbaden 1959
editor Walter Lebermann

  • Location autograph: Uppsala Universitetsbibliotek
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Caps. 52:3


van Boer Jr., Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus — Systematisch-Thematisches Werkverzeichnins, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was pulished in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study.

Description of work

1. Allegro moderato D major alla breve
2. Largo, ma poco con moto A major 6/8
3. Ghiribizzo: Allegro D major 2/4