Ludvig Norman (1831−1885)

Quartet [E major/E minor] for two violins, viola and violoncello

opus 20

1. Allegro grazioso
2. Scherzo: Allegro moderato
3. Andante cantabile
4. Finale: Allegro vivace

  • Year of composition: 1855
  • Work category: String quartet
  • Dedication: To August Lennmark
  • Arrangement/revision: I Norman's coll. opus 20 the quartet exists in two arrangements for piano 4 hands, one by Ivar Wallström and one by LG Bratt
  • Duration: 23 min
  • Detailed duration: 23 min (Berwaldkvartetten)

Examples of printed editions

Sthlm, Julius Bagge, J.B. 46 (parts), 51 (score), publ. 1882

Location for score and part material

Statens musik- och teaterbibliotek

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: The autograph score is missing at Musik- och Teaterbiblioteket, in Norman's coll. But under opus 20 several arrangements for piano 4 hands exist.


Julius Bagge: 'Förteckning öfver Ludvig Normans tonverk, upprättad af Julius Bagge.' Stockholm 1886, p. 9.
Bo Wallner. 'Den svenska stråkkvartetten I: Klassicism och romantik', the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 24, Stockholm, 1979, pp. 74−76.
Tomas Löndal: 'Ludvig Norman (1831−85)', in 'Musiken i Sverige III: Den nationella identiteten', Sthlm 1992, p. 356.

Description of work

1. Allegro grazioso E major 4/4
2. Scherzo: Allegro moderato A minor 3/4
3. Andante cantabile C major 4/4
4. Finale: Allegro vivace E minor 2/4