Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Funeral music for Gustav III. I. C minor (Symphonie funèbre)

VB 148

I. Andante mesto
II. Larghetto
III. Chorale
IV. Adagio - Andante mesto

  • Year of composition: April 1792 (according to Monumenta Musicae Svecicae: 9)
  • Work category: Symphony
  • First performed: 13 April 1792 in the Riddarholm Church, Stockholm
  • Duration: Approx. 15-20 min
  • Detailed duration: 18'50 (according to Musica Sveciae MSCD 416)

Instrumentation / / timp, (cont) / str

[The score in Monumenta Musicae Svecicae: 9 suggests '2 Tromba', as does the part material (handwritten manuscript) at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket, but the liner notes to Musica Sveciae MSCD 416 writes 'trombones'.]

Examples of printed editions

Monumenta Musicae Svecicae: 9, Edition Reimers ER 40090

Location for score and part material

Transcription at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket: O/Sv-R MUSIQUE vid Kon. Gustaf den III:jes Bisättning den 13. April 1792 Af Kungl. Capellmästaren Joseph Kraus (copy made by Frigel)

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis,the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study' (the numbering of this work is however unchanged).
Monumenta Musicae Svecicae: 9 and the liner notes to Musica Sveciae MSCD 416.

Description of work

I. Andante mesto C minor 4/4 (C)
II. Larghetto F minor 3/8
III. Chorale -flat major 4/4 (C)
IV. Adagio - Andante mesto C minor (- C major) 4/4 (C)

Media files

Edition Swedish Musical Heritage