Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Overture, March and Musical Interlude (from the tragedy 'Olympie' by. H. Kellgren)

VB 32 [VB 33] (earlier VB 29)


No. 1: March
No. 2: Musik zwischen Akt I und II
No. 3: Musik zwischen Akt II und III
No. 4: Musik zwischen Akt III und IV
No. 5: Musik zwischen Akt IV und V
No. 6: Musik nach Akt V

  • Year of composition: Probably Stockholm 1790 (according to van Boer)
  • Work category: Incidental music
  • Duration: Approx. 25-30 min
  • Detailed duration: Uncertain

Instrumentation / / (cont) / str

Location for score and part material

Transcription exists at Uppsala University library (according to van Boer)

  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost (according to van Boer)


van Boer Jr, Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus. Systematisch-thematisches Werkverzeichnis, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was published in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title 'Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study' (the work is here spicified as VB 32 in the table of contents, but as VB 33 in the text; in an as of yet [Feb. 2015] unpublished VB numbering the piece is specified as VB 32).

Description of work

Overture: Adagio - Allegro ma non troppo D minor 3/4 - 4/4 (C)
No. 1 March: Tempo di marcia B-flat major 4/4 (C)
No. 2 Musik zwischen Akt I und II: Allegro assai B-flat major 3/4
No. 3 Musik zwischen Akt II und III: Andante fieramente B-flat major 3/4
No. 4 Musik zwischen Akt III und IV: Largo E-flat major 4/4 (C)
No. 5 Musik zwischen Akt IV und V: Andantino C minor 3/4
No. 6 Musik nach Akt V: Largo C minor 3/4


Listen to the overture on Spotify (login is required)