Johan Helmich Roman (1694-1758)

Sonata no. VIII in A major from XII Sonate a flauto traverso, violone e cembalo da Roman, Svedese

BeRI 208

[Movement no. 1] Largo
[Movement no. 2] Allegro
[Movement no. 3] Andante
[Movement no. 4] Adagio - Allegro
[Movement no. 5] (no tempo marking)

  • Year of composition: Printed in 1727
  • Work category: Other instruments with keyboard instrument
  • Arrangement/revision: Critical edition by Maria Bania
  • Duration: Approx. 5-10 min
  • Detailed duration: 9'58 ((according to Johan Helmich Roman – Sonate A Flauto Traverso, Violone E Cembalo with Maria Bania, Lars Ulrik Mortensen, Jane Gower, Thomas Pitt [Caprice Records, CAP 22060])


fl, violone, cemb

Examples of printed editions

Printed score can be found in the Musik- och teaterbiblioteket’s Roman collection (Ro 56a, Ro 56b, Ro 56c)
Printed music can also be found at the Uppsala University Library (in the Cronstedt’s collection: signum Cr. 9:103 and the Leufsta collection: 56)
Swedish Musical Heritage

Location for score and part material

Manuscript can be found in the Musik- och teaterbiblioteket's Roman collection (Ro 56d)

Description of work

[Movement no. 1] Largo A major 4/4 (C)
[Movement no. 2] Allegro A major 2/4
[Movement no. 3] Andante E major 6/8
[Movement no. 4] Adagio - Allegro A major 3/8
[Movement no. 5] (no tempo marking) A major 4/4 (C)

Work comment

[XII] Sonate a flauto traverso, violone e cembalo includes:
Sonata no. I in G major [BeRI 201]
Sonata no. II in D major [BeRI 202]
Sonata no. III in C minor [BeRI 203]
Sonata no. IV in G major [BeRI 204]
Sonata no. V in E minor [BeRI 205]
Sonata no. VI in B minor [BeRI 206]
Sonata no. VII in G major [BeRI 207]
Sonata no. VIII in A major [BeRI 208]
Sonata no. IX in C major [BeRI 209]
Sonata no. X in E minor [BeRI 210]
Sonata no. XI in G minor [BeRI 211]
Sonata no. XII in D major [BeRI 212]

See individual post for each sonata