Natanael Berg (1879−1957)

Engelbrekt, opera in four acts

Act 1
Act 2
Act 3
Act 4

  • Year of composition: 1928
  • Work category: Opera
  • Text author: Natanael Berg. German translation by Fritz Tutenberg.
  • First performed: 21 September 1929 at the Royal Opera, Stockholm. Einar Larson (Engelbrekt), Armas Järnefelt, conductor.
  • Duration: Approx. 120-180 min


3*.3*.3*.3. / / timp, 1 perc / str
picc, cor angl, bass clar, dbn

Solo voices/choir

Solo voices: 3 sopranos (Ingrid, etc.), 7 tenors (Erik, king of Denmark, etc.), 5 baritones (Engelbrekt, etc.), 4 basses (Olof Mats Pers, etc.)

Mixed choir, S.A.T.B.
Female choir, S.A.
Male choir, T.T.B.B.

Examples of printed editions

Libretto available at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket, location mark at C 9524:2 (Online catalogue)

Location for score and part material

Score and parts available for purchase or rent at Stim/Svensk musik

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Score and piano reduction in autograph in Natanael Berg's deposition, Z/Sv.

Description of work

Act 1
Act 2
Act 3
Act 4
(For more information, please see the Swedish page)


Score example (beginning of act 1) available at Stim/Svensk musik:$file/12600f2.pdf


Og jeg laengtes till Dig,
som man i örkenen laenges till oasens kildevaeld ... (Torkil)