Natanael Berg (1879−1957)

Symphony no. 3, Makter

1. Mannen (Selbst ist der Mann)
2. Kvinnan (Das Weib)

  • Year of composition: Mov. 1 complete in 1917, complemented with mov. 2 in 1939
  • Work category: Symphony
  • Dedication: Mov. 2, Kvinnan, 'To my Elsie'
  • First performed: Mov. 1, then a symphonic poem with the title Selbst ist der Mann, premiered on 24 January 1918. The entire symphony was premiered on 9 December 1942 with Stockholms Konsertförenings orkester and Carl Garaguly, conductor.
  • Duration: 24 min


3*.2*.3*.2*. / / timp, perc, hp / str
picc, cor angl, bass clar, dbn
perc: triangel, tamb, becken, tamb. rul, gr. cassa, piatti, campane, gonggong

Examples of printed editions

Score and parts available for purchase/rent from Stim/Svensk musik.

Location for score and part material

Only score at Musik-och teaterbiblioteket

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Score in autograph in Natanael Berg's deposition, vol. I Symfoniska verk: no. 7

Description of work

1. Mannen (Selbst ist der Mann): Prestissimo varying keys ends in G minor 6/8
2. Kvinnan (Das Weib): Andante varying keys ends in E-flat major 6/8


Score example (the first 7 pages from mov. 1) available at Stim/Svensk musik:$file/12607f1.pdf