Natanael Berg (1879−1957)

Symphony no. 1, Alles endet was entstehet

1. Allegro energico
2. Andante con moto
3. Presto
4. Moderato molto

  • Year of composition: 1913, composed in relation to the sinking of the Titanic
  • Work category: Symphony
  • First performed: 9 January 1914
  • Duration: 39 min


3*.4*.5*.3* / / 2 timp, perc, 2 hp / str
picc, cor angl, bass clar, dbn
perc: triangel, tamb, tamb. rul, gr. cassa, piatti, campane, tamtam

Examples of printed editions

Score and parts available for purchase or rent at Stim/Svensk musik

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Score in autograph in Natanael Berg's deposition


This poem by Nikolaus Lenau can be seen on the title page:

O Menschenherz, was ist dein Glück?
Ein rätselhaft geborner
Und, kaum gegrüßt, verlorner,
Unwiederholter Augenblick!

Nikolaus Lenau, 1834 

The symphony's title 'Alles endet was entstehet' is the German title of a poem by Michelangolo (1475−1564)

Description of work

1. Allegro energico varying keys ends in E major 4/4 (C)
2. Andante con moto varying keys ends in F minor 4/4 (C)
3. Presto varying keys ends in A major 3/8
4. Moderato molto varying keys ends in B-flat major 12/8


Score example (the first 6 pages from mov. 1) available at Stim/Svensk musik:$file/12593f1.pdf