Jakob Adolf Hägg (1850−1928)

Kanonische Suite

opus 37

1. Kanon in der Untersecunde (Canone alla secunde)
2. Kanon in der Terz (Canone alla Terza)
3. Kanon in der Quarte (Canone alla Quarta)
4. Kanon in der Quinte (Canone alla Quinta)
5. Kanon in der Sexte (Canone alla Sesta)
6. Kanon in der Septime (Canone alla settima)
7. Kanon in der Gegenbewegung (Canone per moto contrario)
8. Kanon in der Vergrösserung (Canone per augmentazione)
9. Kanon in der Verkleinerung (Canone per diminuzione)
10. Choral als Kanon (Cantus firmus come Canone)
11. Kanon zum Choral (Canone per il corale)

  • Year of composition: None of the movements are dated
  • Work category: Piano
  • Dedication: Seinem Freunde Cl.W. Rendahl
  • Duration: Approx. 10-15 min

Examples of printed editions

• Self-published, n. d. or loc., print: Breitkopf & Härtel
• Hans Ahlborg Musik, Farsta, n. d. (ca 2005), reprint of above mentioned ed.

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: The pieces are spread over several manuscripts in the Hägg collection [Hägg-samlingen]

Description of work

1. Kanon in der Untersecunde. (Canone alla secunde.): Largo D minor 4/4
2. Kanon in der Terz. (Canone alla Terza.): Andante G minor 3/8
3. Kanon in der Quarte. (Canone alla Quarta.): Adagio D minor 4/4
4. Kanon in der Quinte. (Canone alla Quinta.): Allegretto D minor 6/8
5. Kanon in der Sext.e (Canone alla Sesta.): Andante F major 9/8
6. Kanon in der Septime. (Canone alla settima.): Allegretto F major 2/4
7. Kanon in der Gegenbewegung. (Canone per moto contrario.): Andante D minor 3/4
8. Kanon in der Vergrösserung. (Canone per augmentazione.): Andante G minor 3/4
9. Kanon in der Verkleinerung. (Canone per diminuzione.): Lento G minor 4/4
10. Choral als Kanon. (Cantus firmus come Canone.): G major 4/4
11. Kanon zum Choral. (Canone per il corale.): D major 4/4

Media files