Jakob Adolf Hägg (1850−1928)

Studien in der Orchestration bei Professor Niels W. Gade

opus 50

1. Volkslied
2. (Theme by Weyse)
3. Skizze: (theme by Gade)
4. Skizze: (theme by Gade) Andante
5. Moderato
6. Allegro moderato
7. Andante

  • Year of composition: 1870
  • Work category: Orchestral works in several movements
  • Dedication: An das Konservatorium in Stockholm
  • Duration: Approx. 15-20 min


Varying instrumentation in the different movements, but at most / / timp / str

Examples of printed editions

Self-published, n. d., [probably end of 1920s], printed in Leipzig at Breitkopf & Härtel (only score)

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Several movements missing in the autograph

Description of work

1. Volkslied: 2 instrumentations, A for full orchestra and B-flat for only wind, no tempo marks B-flat major 4/4
2. (Theme by Weyse) no tempo marks G major 4/4
3. Skizze: (theme by Gade) 2 instrumentations, A in G minor and B in E minor, no tempo marks Moderato 3/4
4. Skizze: (theme by Gade) 2 instrumentations, A in A major and B in E-flat major Andante 3/4
5. Moderato, 4 instrumentations A, B, C and D, C major 4/4
6. Allegro moderato, 3 instrumentations A, B and C, C major 4/4
7. Andante B major 4/4