Ivar Hallström (1826−1901)

Ett äfventyr i Skottland (I Skottland). Ballet in Two Acts

  • Year of composition: 1875
  • Work category: Ballet / Dance music
  • First performed: According to Ralf, Klas: 'Kungliga Teatern in Stockholm. Repertoire 1773-1973', Stockholm 1974: the Opera House on 14 April 1875. Contributors: D. F. C. Hjertzell (Lord Drummond), H. Lund f Lindh (Mlle Tourbillon), R. Sjöblom (François), A. Paulson (Celeste), A. Christensen (Fanchinette), E. Ahlberg (Lelia) etc.
    According to the piano reduction: Mrs Lindström, Mlle Paulson, Mlle Grundström, Wessberg
  • Arrangement/revision: Instrumentation by C [Conrad] Nordqvist (according to Sohlmans musiklexikon, vol. 3, 1976); 'In Scotland. Ballet in 2 Sections by Theodore [Marckl]. Music by Ivar Hallström and Conrad Nordqvist' (according to score)
  • Duration: Approx. 50-60 min
  • Detailed duration: Ca 55'
    25' (part 1) resp. 30' (part 2)


2*.2.2.2 / 2.2.3**.0 / timp, perc / str
(picc, alto tbn, bass tbn)
perc: bass dr, trgl

Location for score and part material

Handwritten score, parts and piano reduction (with stage directions) at Musik- och teaterbiblioteket's collections (Kungl. Teatern, Pantomim-Balett E 9).

Description of work

First Section
1. Introduction (Scottish folk melody): Larghetto D major 4/4 (C)
2. Scottish Highland Dance Comp. by Conr. Nordqvist: Allegro moderato G major 2/4
3. Pantomime by I. Hallström: Allegro C major 4/4 (C) (varying tempi, keys, time signatures)

Second Section
4. Scene och entrance act by I. Hallström: Allegro leggiero D major 2/4 (varying tempi, keys, time signatures)
5. March (Scottish): Allegro A minor alla breve
6. Pas de quatre. Mazurka by Conr. Nordqvist: Allegro moderato F major 3/4
Coda: Più vivo A major 3/4
7. Pas de deux by C. Nordqvist: Poco Adagio D major 6/8 (varying tempi, keys, time signatures, )
Coda: Allegro ma non Troppo D major 6/8
8. Scene: Allegro B-flat major 2/4
9. Scottish Dance Comp. by C. Nordqvist. Reel och Final: (tempo mark missing) D major 2/4
Finale: Allegro vivace quasi Presto D major (varying keys) 2/4