Joseph Martin Kraus (1756−1792)

Sonate für Violine und Bass

VB 157 (earlier VB 158)

1. Allegro
2. Andante, attacca
3. Allegro — Andante

  • Year of composition: Göttingen 1777
  • Work category: Violin and harpsichord
  • Duration: Approx. 10-15 min

Examples of printed editions

Werner Icking Musik Archiv, Digital edition under Creative commons Non-commercial Share Alike 3.0
editor Simon Steinkühler

  • Location autograph: Uppsala Universitetsbibliotek
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Autograph lost, transcription at Uppsala UB, Caps. 52:5, Si-Samm.


van Boer Jr., Bertil H: Die Werke von Joseph Martin Kraus — Systematisch-Thematisches Werkverzeichnins, the Royal Swedish Academy of Music series no. 56, Stockholm (1988); an updated edition in English with a partly revised VB-numbering was pulished in 1998 by Pendragon Press under the title Joseph Martin Kraus. A Systematic-Thematic Catalogue of His Musical Works and Source Study.

Description of work

1. Allegro D minor 4/4
2. Andante D minor 3/8, attacca
3. Allegro F major alla breve