Amanda Maier-Röntgen (1853−1894)

Concerto [D minor] für Violine mit Begleitung des Orchesters componirt von Amanda Maier

  • Year of composition: 'M. 2 November 1875.' In piano reduction: 'Fine Leipzig, Mai [date deleted]'
  • Work category: Violin and orchestra
  • First performed: 10 December in Halle with the composer as soloist. Another major performance occurred on 8 February 1876 in Gewandhaus in Leipzig, where the Gewandhaus Orchestra played under the direction of the orchestra concertmaster and Maier’s teacher, Engelbert Röntgen, also with the composer as soloist. Some sources denote Carl Reinecke as conductor, and he did participate in the concert, although Musikalisches Wochenblatt Jg. 7, 1876, p. 97a states that Röntgen succeeded Reinecke on the baton for the violin concerto, which moreover is reported to be ‘den ersten Satzes eines selbstcomponirten Violinconcert’.
  • Duration: 19 min
  • Detailed duration: 16' according to a session played by Tobias Ringborg and Anders Kilström; 19'30 according to Claudia Bonfiglioli's performance together with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in Stockholm and conductor Sakari Oramo, at the Stockholm Concert Hall on 27 and 28 May 2015

Instrumentation / / timp / vn princip. / str

Examples of printed editions

Levande musikarv, Stockholm 2015. Critical edition by Klas Gagge.

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Amanda Maier's collection. (Score, solo part and piano reduction, which are not at all times congruent, especially regarding the solo part; page 40 and 41 of the score are stuck together, but the music is still quite coherent)

Description of work

Allegro risoluto D minor 4/4 (C)


Link to a video from Stockholm Concert Hall's Play channel, from the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra's performance of the concerto on 27 and 28 May 2015 at the Stockholm Concert Hall. Claudia Bonfiglioli is the soloist and Sakari Oramo conductor.

Work comment

Maier also performed the concert in Stockholm together with the Royal Court Orchestra conducted by Ludvig Norman at a concert at the Royal Opera 18 November 1876.

Media files

Edition Swedish Musical Heritage