Laura Netzel (1839−1927)

Berceuse et Tarentelle pour Violon avec accompagnement de Piano par Lago

opus 28


1. Berceuse: Andantino
2. Tarentelle: Allegro

  • Work category: Violin and piano
  • Dedication: A Monsieur Emile Sauret
  • Duration: Approx. 1-5 min

Examples of printed editions

Paris, J. Hamelle, Éditeur, J. 3511. H.

Location for score and part material

Musik- och teaterbiblioteket

Description of work

1. Berceuse: Andantino G major 2/4
2. Tarentelle: Allegro A major 6/8


Digitalised by Musik- och teaterbiblioteket and available for free from the Internet at

Work comment

From Laura Netzel's scrapbook, MTB:

The Strad 1891:

The Swedish lady composer, Madame Laura Netzel, who writes under the pseudonyme of "Lago", and who has had several of her works for orchestra, piano and violin published by the music firm Hamelle in Paris, has lately written a "Chanson Slave" for violin and piano, which is very highly spoken of by the musical critic in Stockholms Dagblad. This clever lady has also written for the same instruments, a "Berceuse", a "Fantasia on Swedish National Melodies" and a "Tarantella." The latter named piece is dedicated to the violinist Sauret, and has been well received in Paris, when played by Mons. Marsick at a concert there. "Lago" has studied counterpoint and composition under Mons. Vidor [sic] in Paris, who speaks very highly of his pupil's gift and attainments."