Johan Helmich Roman (1694-1758)

Bilägers Musiquen (Drottningholmsmusiken) [The Drottningholm Music]

BeRI 2


1. Allegro assai con spirito
2. Allegretto
3. Andante
4. Non troppo allegro
5. Andante
6. Poco allegro
7. Allegro
8. Lento
9. Allegro
10. Allegro assai
11. Allegro
12. Presto
13. Tempo di Menuetto
14. Menuetto II [trio]
15. Grave
16. Presto
17. Lento
18. Andante
19. Allegro molto
20. Allegro
21. Allegro
22. Allegro
23. Vivace
24. Allegro

  • Year of composition: 1744
  • Work category: Orchestral works in several movements
  • First performed: 18-21 August, 1744, The Drottningholm Palace, Stockholm
  • Duration: Approx. 50-60 min
  • Detailed duration: 51'27 (according to Musica Sveciae MSCD 410)

Examples of printed editions

Levande musikarv, Stockholm 2019. Critical edition by B. Tommy Andersson.

Location for score and part material

Manuscripts can be found at the Musik- och teaterbiblioteket (Ro:2a-b, Ro:2d-e, AlstrS [the Alströmer collection], the archive of the Stockholm Music Museum, and in the Ork.Rar. [Orchestra, rarities] collection) and at the Lund University Libraries (LUB:Kraus no. 33, LUB:Eng no. 693 and LUB:Eng no. 155). Movement nos. 14 and 20 can also be found in the Leufsta 15 collection at the Uppsala University Library.

  • Location autograph: Musik- och teaterbiblioteket
  • Possible call no. and autograph comment: Ro:2c


Bengtsson, Ingmar: J. H. Roman och hans instrumentalmusik (1955)

Description of work

1. Allegro assai con spirito D major 4/4 (C)
2. Allegretto D major 3/8
3. Andante B minor 4/4 (C)
4. Non troppo allegro E minor 6/4
5. Andante C major 3/4
6. Poco allegro C major 2/4
7. Allegro C minor (score in G minor) 3/4
8. Lento Ess major (score in B-flat major) 3/4
9. Allegro B-flat major 12/8
10. Allegro assai F major 3/4
11. Allegro A minor 4/4 (C)
12. Presto D major 6/8
13. Tempo di Menuetto D minor 3/4
14. Menuetto II [trio] D major 3/4
15. Grave D major 4/4 (C)
16. Presto G minor (score in D minor) 3/8
17. Lento G major 4/4 (C)
18. Andante G major 3/2
19. Allegro molto G major alla breve
20. Allegro D major 3/4
21. Allegro D major 4/4 (C)
22. Allegro D major 3/4
23. Vivace D major 3/4
24. Allegro D major 4/4 (C)



LUB:Eng no. 693 
UUB:Leufsta 15
Listen to the work on Spotify (login is required)

Work comment

The Bilägers musique (= the Royal Nuptials Music), commonly known as the Drottningholm Music (BeRI 2) was composed for and first performed in 1744 in connection with the royal wedding at Drottningholm Palace between the crown prince of Sweden, Adolf Frederick of Holstein-Gottorp and princess Louisa Ulrika of Prussia, sister of Frederick the Great. The ceremony itself took place in the Hall of State on the 18 August, 1744.

The music is a 24-movement suite (with a number of additional movements in reserve) and was performed by the Royal Court Orchestra led by Roman. The suite was doubtlessly divided up into suitable combinations for ceremonies and processions and for performance as concert pieces and mealtime music over the four days that the wedding lasted.