Fabian Svensson (1980-)

Expansion – Inversion – Kontraktion – Eskalation [Expansion - Inversion - Contraction – Escalation]

  • Year of composition: 2002
  • Work category: Piano
  • First performed: 27 May, 2002 at the Millesgården, Stockholm. Emma Österdahl
  • Duration: 13 min



Examples of printed editions

BabelScores, Paris 2016

Description of work

One-movement work

Work comment

Two important decisions that I made when planning this piece for solo piano were not to deal with virtuosity and not to treat the instrument percussively. Instead, I wanted to create a work focusing on the richness and beauty of the actual sound of the piano; the expressive qualities inherent even in single, isolated tones. The result is a very slow and very quiet piece; austere and fragile. It could—perhaps—be called "meditative".